Sustainability Task Force


The purpose of the STF is to ensure that our collective efforts are guided by a shared vision of the role of higher education in sustainability. Our efforts will reflect UNH’s unique contributions to the challenges and opportunities of sustainability, will communicate that sustainability is at the center of our community and will leverage our national leadership and reputation to support our mission and strategic priorities. 


The objectives of the STF are to ensure that UNH continuously maintains the highest possible STARS rating, which is currently Platinum status, in all future reporting beginning in March 2021; The STF will also reach beyond STARS to nurture a culture of sustainability at UNH that touches and is enriched by students, faculty, staff, and all members of the UNH community and that reflects our values and strategic priorities. 


The STF will operate as a network that connects, engages, and aligns all parts of the UNH community through supporting a common vision, shared measurements, continuous communication, and synergistic activities. The STF will make recommendations and report on progress to the Provost and Cabinet; The STF process will reflect effective sustainability network governance and planning with UNHSI acting as the backbone organization and partner.


Task force chairs

  • Chris Clement, Vice President for Finance and Administration
  • Tom Kelly, Chief Sustainability Officer and Executive Director, Sustainability Institute
  • Stephen Trzaskoma, Department Chair, Classics, Humanities, and Italian Studies

Task force members

  • Jennifer Andrews, Sustainability Project Director
  • Kim Babbitt, Associate Dean, COLSA 
  • Doug Bencks, University Architect and Director of Campus Planning
  • Monica Chiu, Interim Associate Vice President for Community, Equity and Diversity
  • Michael Durkin, Director of Procurement Services
  • Debbie Dutton, Vice President, Advancement
  • Colleen Flaherty, Communications Coordinator, Sustainability Institute
  • Bill Janelle, Associate Vice President for Facilities & Operations
  • Bill McNamara, Executive Director, Hospitality Services
  • Ted Kirkpatrick, Senior Vice Provost and Dean of Students
  • Rick Macdonald, Director of Business Affairs
  • Robert McGann, Director of Admissions
  • Cari Moorhead, Interim Dean of Graduate School
  • David Mortensen, Chair of the Department of Agriculture, Nutrition, and Food Systems
  • Kathy Neils, Associate Vice President-Chief Human Resources Officer
  • Matt O’Keefe, Director of Energy and Utilities
  • Mica Stark, Chief communications officer & Associate Vice President for Communications and Public Affairs 
  • P.T. Vasudevan, Senior Vice Provost Academic Affairs 
  • Fiona Wilson, Executive Director of Center for Social Innovation & Enterprise

Student members

  • Devon Guyer, Student, Student Senate
  • Marie-Josiane Ohoueu, Graduate Student Senate