About Us

Cam WakeDr. Cameron Wake - Program Chair

Email: cameron.wake@unh.edu
Phone: 603-862-2329
Office: Morse Hall, 236C
Web: http://www.eos.unh.edu/Faculty/Wake

As Program Chair, Cameron oversees curriculum design, approval, and implementation. He works to ensure the dual major is an innovative and sought-after program that continues to grow and to engage students in improving human well-being and supporting our ecosystems for present and future generations.   Cameron also chairs the University Committee for the sustainability dual major.

Cameron leads a research program investigating regional climate change through the analysis of ice cores records and instrumental data and communicating the science and impacts of climate change with a range of regional stakeholders. Cameron also helps lead Climate Solutions New England, a collaborative effort to secure healthy, prosperous, and sustainable communities through the pursuit of integrated solutions that include building energy self-reliance and weather resilience.

His collaborative research on several regional climate assessments in the northeast United States has been shared with municipal, state, and federal agencies and representatives, has been covered widely in the media, and has been cited by several as motivation for policy action. He is an author of over 75 scientific papers and several peer-reviewed reports, and has mentored dozens of graduate students. In addition, he has provided hundreds of interviews for state, regional, and national media. In recognition of his engaged scholarship around the issue of climate change, Cameron was awarded the UNH Faculty Award of Excellence in Public Service in 2010.

Dr. Wake received a B.Sc. in Geology (1984) from the University of Ottawa, an M.A. in Geography (1987) from Wilfrid Laurier University, and a Ph.D. in Earth Sciences (1993) from the University of New Hampshire.

Dr. Vanessa LevesqueDr. Vanessa Levesque - Lecturer & Assistant Director

Email: vanessa.levesque@unh.edu
Phone: 603-862-1256
Office: Nesmith, 112 
Professional webpage:  https://mypages.unh.edu/vro4

Vanessa developed and teaches the three core courses in the Sustainability Dual Major, using engaged and participatory teaching strategies. Vanessa is the advisor for the sustainability dual major students, mentors students interested in sustainability, guides independent study projects, and hires TAs and RAs. Additionally, as the Assistant Director of the dual major, Vanessa roles include being the liaison with the registrar, working with faculty from other departments who want to list their courses as electives, and promoting the dual major across campus through events, presentations, and marketing.

Dr. Levesque received her Ph.D. in Ecology and Environmental Studies from the University of Maine as a research fellow with the Sustainability Solutions Initiative. Her teaching and research integrate knowledge and methods from multiple disciplines, with a particular interest in sustainability science, collaborative governance, and institutional analysis. Dr. Levesque holds an MS in Natural Resources Planning from the University of Vermont and a BA in Ecology and Evolution from Dartmouth College. 

In addition to her academic background, Dr. Levesque has worked in the field of environmental planning and policy at local, state and federal levels. She was the Natural Resources Planner for the Town of Brunswick, a planner for Maine’s Coastal Program, and an NOAA Coastal Management Fellow. She is a trained facilitator, has taught environmental education, and spent three years in Uganda as a Peace Corps volunteer.

University Committee for the SDM 2019-2020

Name Department College
Semra Aytur

Health Management & Policy

Cliff Brown Sociology COLA
Kevin Gardner

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Larry Hamilton Sociology COLA
Fiona Wilson Sustainability Institute  
Vanessa Levesque Sustainability Dual Major  
Ariane Faro English COLA
Cameron Wake (Chair) Earth System Research Center EOS











Support for the SDM is provided by the Sustainability Institute and the Provost's Office.